Wide-eyed Wonder: an artist's musings on three-dimensional vision

Some are color blind. I am stereo blind.

Staring “off into space” with both eyes

with one comment

I caught my eyes at play this morning, while sipping coffee by the fireside in the pre-dawn gloom.

I must have been really staring “off into space” because a light appeared and disappeared. “What??” became my focus, and the light instantly disappeared and I could make out a grocery bag that I had set on the kitchen table. Hmmm-mm.

I closed my dominant left eye (the eye my brain uses in “what?” mode to the exclusion of information from the right). There appeared the light through my half-blind eye— the green clock numbers on my stove! Aha! The bag was blocking the light from the left eye but not the right.

What a happy event, my randomly plopping the bag down and not putting it away last night!

I settled back in my chair and resumed staring “off into space” and enjoyed the flickering green confirmation that both eyes were “on” and working.

Way to go, right eye!

Lynda's diagram

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ** @@ ^^ YAY!

    Mary

    December 29, 2011 at 10:24 am


Leave a Reply

